Pupil Transition Information

21st April 2020

5 Hayling Schools Header.png


School Transition 2020

Dear Parents, Carers and Pupils,

We are writing to you to provide reassurance on the subject of transition, the process of changing from one year group to another.  For many years now, the Hayling Island schools have worked closely to make the annual change as positive and smooth an experience as possible.  Whether a pupil is moving year groups within a school, or moving up to the next key stage, it is an important part of the school year.

The majority of key transition dates occur during the summer term.  With the current school closures and restrictions in place, there is the chance that we will not be able to run the usual transition timetable in its normal format.  However, we will endeavour as 5 schools to adapt this process to make transition successful.

Should schools be fully reopened before the end of the summer term we will reschedule meeting their new teacher(s), transition days and parent meetings in the time available.  Additional activities/visits will go ahead for years 2 and 6 as previously planned.

In the event that schools remain closed and restrictions continue, then we will attempt to give you all the information you need through information packs, telephone calls and video.  It is likely that we will then put additional measures into supporting transition when schools reopen.

Over the coming weeks, we hope to have more information about when and how schools will be reopened.  After the May half term, we will give you all the details you need about how transition will take place. 

May we take this opportunity to thank everyone in our school communities for their support and resilience in these challenging times.  A huge well done to our pupils across all 5 schools for how they have adapted to the strangest of circumstances.  We look forwards to seeing you all back soon.

The Hayling Headteachers

Mill Rythe Infant School

Mrs Lucy Ford


Mengham Infant School

Mrs Lindsay Rebbitt


Mill Rythe Junior School

Mr David Bessant


Mengham Junior School

Mr Edward Harrison

Mrs Odele Davies

The Hayling College 

Mr Colin Rainford